i2L Ltd
+44 (0) 1380 609313
Find my qualification

Certification - A-Z of Coaching & Mentoring


A - Z Coaching and Mentoring - This week's extract highlights 'Certification' in coaching.

Don't forget if you have a special request for a definition of a coaching term or principle, just let us know! Perfect for anyone studying for an ILM Coaching & Mentoring qualification, or as a refresher for experienced coaches.



Certification for coaches is widely available and can be accessed through a huge variety of training providers, professional bodies and universities. The majority of certifications are robust and well regarded, although the coaching industry isn’t regulated and some organisations or training providers won’t recognise the certifications of others. This has created somewhat of a minefield and it is worth undertaking extensive research before choosing the certification that will suit you best.
For example, some training providers’ certificates aren’t recognised for membership and accreditation of some professional coaching bodies and some professional membership bodies will only recognised their own certification.
In order to have a coaching qualification with transferable credits between learning courses, educational institutions and occupations, the qualification must be accredited through one of qualification awarding bodies in the UK. These are regulated by Ofqual in England, DCELLS in Wales, CCEA in Northern Ireland and SQA (Scottish Qualifications Authority) in Scotland. Many (but not all) coach certifications in the UK are recognised in this way.
Here are the main routes for achieving QCF accredited coaching certification (ofqual.gov.uk) in the UK:
  • Colleges, universities or training providers accredited with City & Guilds.
  • Universities offering BA, BSc, MA or MSc degrees in coaching.
  • Colleges, universities or training providers offering Chartered Management Institute (CMI) coaching programmes.
  • Colleges, universities or training providers offering Institute of Leadership & Management (ILM) coaching programmes.
  • Defence Awarding Organisation (DAO)
  • Qulaifi
  • CPCAB (Counselling & Psychotherapy Central Awarding Body)
  • SFEDI Awards
  • Institute of Sales Management (ISMM)
  • Mineral Produce Qualifications Council (MPQC)
  • Agored Cymru
  • Aim Awards
The Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) is the national system of study units which have credit value. The national credit transfer system consists of eight levels: 
Qualification Framework

Taken from the A-Z Coaching Handbook by Clare Smale where you will find a comprehensive A-Z, plus a full list of references.

Contact us for your copy or order through our website. Click here to find out more about ILM Qualifications



Copyright © 2022 i2L Ltd  |  All Rights Reserved
i2L Ltd t/as inspired2learn
Trading office:
25 Davies Drive
SN10 2RJ

t: 01380 609313
e: enquiries@inspired2learn.co.uk
w: www.inspired2learn.co.uk